Jesus Christ, The True Prophet

Standard

“Learn much of the Lord Jesus. For every look at yourself, take ten looks at Christ. Let your soul be filled with a sense of the excellence of Christ.”  ~~Robert Murray M’Cheyne

Oh, the things I learned from chapter two.

For starters, on the meaning of Christ – I had been taught that ‘Christ’ means ‘Anointed One’ but had not heard the rest of the story, so to speak.  In the old covenant three offices were anointed for God: the prophet, the priest, and the king.  These titles each contain an inherent judgment on you and me.

“As king, Jesus comes to us to subdue our rebellion.  As priest, he comes in order to deal with sins.  But the reason he comes to us as prophet is to deal with our ignorance.” 

This would be a good time to say in your head, “Thank you, Jesus.”  I don’t know about you, but I think my ignorance of the Word was the largest hurdle I needed to get past.  I knew I was filthy with sin, so was everyone else.  What’s the big deal?  I had no clue of my need for a savior or what that savior had been willing to do for me.  I thought, like most of the rest of humanity, that if I was ‘good enough’ and changed my ways I would be okay.  Whatever okay meant.

Are you using the study guide?  Questions 1 & 2 basically cover what I just said.  Question 2 asks about John 3:18-19, and why we don’t react to our sin with horror.  My answer: since we don’t know we are in need of a savior, evil is our “normal.”  We like it because we don’t know not to until God opens our eyes.  Consider the following verses:

The LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention
of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. ~Genesis 6:5 ESV

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.”
They are corrupt, they do abominable deeds,
there is none who does good. ~Psalm 14:1 ESV

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.”
They are corrupt, doing abominable iniquity;
there is none who does good. ~Psalm 53:1 ESV

For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became
futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. ~Romans 1:21 ESV

[18] They are darkened in their understanding, alienated from the life of God because of the ignorance
that is in them, due to their hardness of heart. ~Ephesians 4:18 ESV

Are you beginning to see a theme?  There is no possible way we can clean ourselves up and come to Christ on our own, because we didn’t even know we had a need for Him.  He had to tell us.

Left to our own devices, we simply make up our own god, one we think sounds nice to us.  The gods we make up are usually pantheistic or panentheistic — we assume nature is sacred, or that we can find God in anything, or that if we just look deeply enough into ourselves, God is there.

WRONG.

 “This is why we need a prophet who is able to dethrone our ignorance.” 

So, if we can’t save ourselves, who can save us?  From the time of Moses, there was talk of another prophet who was to come.  That’s where I’ll pick up next time.

Coffee-wallpaper

TLC

About truthloveandcoffee

I am a friend. I am your neighbor, your sister, or someone at your church. I love to study God’s Word and share it with you. Come here to witness my excited “A-ha!” moments, as well as some pretty mundane stuff. I have a distinct disdain for emotionally driven bible studies, so you won’t see any of that here. Why? ”The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?” (Jeremiah 17:9 ESV) That’s why. We are not taught by Scripture to “follow our hearts” but to follow Jesus Christ. Emotions can be easily manipulated by crafty teachers, and when that happens we forget to look at Bible verses in their proper context. My prayer is that you find the writings here helpful, edifying, and encouraging.

Leave a Reply

